Wednesday, November 4, 2015

birth story and baby E

Well I just have a few quick minutes, as baby E is waking up right now! I just want to document the past month while it's still fresh in my mind. So we kept waiting and waiting for baby E to make her debut. I had big plans of a natural vaginal birth (vbac) using the hypnobabies program, which I had been practicing every day for the past 3-4 months!! I really wanted it. The doctors wouldn't induce me however, because it increases the vbac risks; so I would have to go into labor on my own. Sooo we waited....and waited.....and waited... Not much progress was happening though I had lots of contractions every day (apparently good for nothing contractions..). Each time I went to the dr, very little if any progress was happening. At my last 3 or 4 appointments the midwives stripped my membranes, which is not a comfortable procedure, and to no avail. I had to have 2 ultrasounds and non-stress tests to make sure she was still doing well in there. Finally on Monday, October 5 I was 12 days (!!) overdue, and the ultrasound wasn't perfect; she wasn't doing her practice breathing, which isn't a huge deal, but they still wanted her out that day. Since I couldn't be induced, I needed another c-section. I was pretty bummed, but I had mostly gotten the being bummed out of my system the past 2 weeks because my hope of going into labor and having a natural birth slipped away more and more with each passing day. I may have still shed a tear or two that day, but I was happy that we were FINALLY going to meet our baby girl that day. (The doctors didn't want me to go past 42 weeks anyway, so I would have probably ended up with a c-section 2 days later anyway, even if the ultrasound was perfect). Anyway, my appointment that day was in the morning, and after the ultrasound and meeting with the doctor, I went straight to labor and delivery to be monitored, start an IV, and start fasting for the next 6 hrs before the c-section. Even more disappointing was that I was actually having the strongest contractions that I'd ever had while I was there at the hospital. The nurse could see them on the monitor, and they actually checked me to see if I was making progress, but alas I was not, and E was still high up. That was sad because I felt like maybe I could actually be going into labor this time, but my window of opportunity was quickly closing, and I was already being prepped for the c-section. So after they checked me and no progress was being made, I gave up my hope for a vbac for good.

So a little background first before  get to the birth.. I had asked my mom to come Sunday night because I thought I might end up having her Monday, or at least within a couple days. So she was watching A that morning while C and I went to my appt. C came to the hospital with me, but it just so happens that he had a job interview a couple hours before my c-section was scheduled. So he went home to get ready, and my mom and A came to visit me before the c-section. They left, and C got back like a half hour before I was to be taken back to the operating room! I wasn't feeling so great, not having eaten or drunken anything all day (and breakfast was like half an apple), being poked and prodded and being hooked up to an IV, plus having contractions. I was feeling weak and nervous walking back to the operating room, but ready to meet our girl. The took C into one room and me into the operating room. It was freezing in there! Plus they had to uncover my whole back to do the spinal. Then I was laying there waiting while they were prepping for what seemed like forever without C. I asked if he could come in, and they went and got him; I felt much better when he was there next to me rubbing my head. Anyway, they started, it seemed like a long time, but then they said she was coming soon, and first I heard them all (I noticed it was all women, about 6 or 8 of them in the operating room, which surprised me!) saying "Ohh she's so cute!" They probably say that to everyone, but it made me happy. A second after they started saying that I heard a loud scream for a couple seconds, and I started to tear up; then they pulled down the curtain and showed her to me! She was a chunky little thing, and so perfect. Then the tears really came! She weighed 9lb 6oz.. a big baby! But actually for being 12 days over she was only in the 70-something percentile. After she got cleaned up and me put back together, they took us to the recover room, where I got to hold her and nurse her. It's actually pretty challenging to do when you're numb up to your ribs... Anyway her face was so chubby and smooshy. haha. She was so precious though, and perfectly healthy. So that's the birth story! We only stayed in the hospital until Wed night; I was recovering a little bit better and faster than with my first c-section. Those days were painful for me and tiring for both C and me. It's really hard to sleep with c-section pain, gas pain, boob pain, a noisy IV dispenser (or whatever it's called), and throw a newborn in there... Not very much sleep... We were happy to go home. Oh and we were so grateful that my mom was at home taking care of A. They came each day to visit us, and it was so cute when A first saw E. She was excited, but it's funny because she pretty quickly lost interest haha. (By the way E fell back asleep, that's why I'm still typing right now ha)

When we got home my mom was here, and she stayed for about 3 more days. It was nice having her here to help with A, and she also did all the cooking and cleaning, which was great! I definitely think I recovered faster this time; by the time we came home, I was only on the strong ibuprofen, and I took that for another week or so. At this point, a month after, I'm still tender and I get sore if I do too much, but I'm doing well. So after my mom left, it was really nice because C could stay home a lot because of his schedule. It was so great! I was really thankful, and I feel spoiled. I don't know what I would've done if he had to go back to work full time right away! I'll probably find out with the next one ha.

So our sweet little E... where do I even start??? She seriously is sweet. She is a 180 degree different baby than A. A was super difficult, very colicky and fussy all the time, had to be held all the time, only catnapped, and plus nursing was torturous with her. E is very calm, hardly ever cries, will sit in her swing and sleeps like a champ. Since the first week, she would sleep for 3-5 hour stretches at night. She doesn't really nap well in her bed during the day, but she does really well in her swing. She is almost always happy. She always smiles at us, especially after waking up. She loves her binky (in fact, she was born with a sucking sore on her hand from sucking in utero!) She never cries unless we are suctioning her nose or she is extremely starving or she has gas. Also, nursing is going much much better this time. Basically from day one with A I had to supplement with formula. So far I haven't had to with E, and she is gaining weight well. Yay! After a couple trips to the lactation consultant, things are going pretty well as far as that goes. I think we both may have a mild thrush case, but it's ok, we're treating it. She has been more gassy the past couple days, so I'm experimenting with my diet. I've eliminated chocolate and dairy for a couple days, and we'll see how she does with that. I think I've already seen an improvement. Anyway, yes, everything is great. The only thing is I feel like nursing takes up sooo much of my time! I feel bad because I can't do anything with A while I'm nursing, but it's already improved since the very beginning as far as being a little less time consuming. A is doing pretty well. She likes baby E, and will go rub her head and say hi once in a while. She has been acting out a little, trying to get attention I think, since so much got taken away from her! She drove me crazy a couple days, but since nursing is getting a little more efficient, I can spend a little more time with her, which helps. Oh and A had a cold for a couple weeks right when we got home, which then got passed on to E. E only got a stuffy, congested nose, but it's been going on for like 3 weeks now! We have to suction it out, which is so sad, but hopefully she'll be completely better soon!

I'm trying to hurry and finish here because both girls are really waking now.... But things are good. The adjustment this time has been much much smoother than when I had A. I know it's mostly because E is so easy and A was so difficult, but I like to think I know a little bit more what I'm doing now... In other news, C has been doing lots of job interviews, but nothing has worked out so far. We are hoping this is the week for some good news because he has some promising prospects. We only have a month and a half left here! It's a crazy fun time! We were talking last night and determined that we are so tired and a little stressed, but our lives are full, and we are happy and blessed. Ha I didn't realize that was a rhyme until I read over it... We really are so blessed though! Being a mother is the hardest job ever, but obviously so worth it. No time for pictures today, but coming soon!

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

back to school

Well as we predicted summer came and went in the blink of an eye. It was fun. It was a good summer. We did some fun things the latter half of summer. One of them included when my family came out and stayed with us for a couple days, then A and I went with them to Montana for like 5 days, and C came up for the weekend after he was done with work. It was my mom's sister's wedding that was held at my grandparents' golf course. So a lot of my mom's family was there, and it was a fun and busy week! It got really tiring for me though being so pregnant and having to take care of A without C there for a few days; I was having lots of braxton hicks! Anyway that was a lot of fun being able to spend a week with my family. One of A's favorite people is her aunt "Nanna." Another fun thing was for our anniversary C and I had a night getaway at the lodge in Park City he worked at. It was just nice having the whole night to ourselves and no toddler to worry about! C's parents took care of her for us. We didn't do much besides eat, relax, and enjoy the time with each other. That's my kind of date. We went to this little Italian restaurant for dinner, then got ice cream, then just hung out in our nice room and didn't have to put a toddler to bed, and in the morning we went out for a yummy breakfast! It was short and sweet and nice. The last big event of the summer was C's brother's wedding. It was in the Salt Lake Temple, and it was lovely. It was a really nice day other than the fact I was sweating the whole time... Being almost 35 weeks pregnant in the heat will do that to ya! The reception wasn't until 7, though, so it had cooled down and was really nice. It was a great day. So that was on Saturday, and we left on Monday. The drive home was............long. A didn't do as well as she did on the way out to Utah, but we made it home eventually. Getting home was soooo nice! It felt so good to be back in our own home and get back to a schedule. It was like 9pm when we got home, but A went straight for her toys she had left behind and was having a ball rediscovering them. It was cute. For the first few days we were home she just played and played with her toys like they were long lost friends.

So since we've been home, we haven't been up to much besides C starting school. I think he's on his 3rd week now? It's good as far as he's said.. He's also been looking at jobs already. He applied for  few online, and a few called back, but they said call in Nov when he's about a month out from being able to start working. It's just still a little early. But it gave us hope at least that people are interested in hiring him! A and I have just been back to the old routine, staying at home while daddy goes to school. We play outside, go on walks, sometimes go shopping, occasionally go to the park. Last week though was so very hot and humid; it was like walking into a sauna going outside. So we didn't venture out too much last week. Also, I've been getting pretty tired easily lately; walking outside feels like carrying an extra 100 lbs. So honestly I've been pretty lazy, and we don't play outside as much as I wish for A's sake. But it's just so hard! Just getting up off the couch is a chore and a struggle, so I consider playing outside or going for a walk for a half hour a big win! On the pregnancy note, I'm now 38 weeks. I've been to the dr a few times since we've been home, and all is well. Her position, my belly size and blood pressure, and her heartbeat are all good. I was checked for dilation last week, and nothing was going on, so we are just playing the waiting game. I'm actually feeling a lot more patient this time around than when I was pregnant with A. With her I just remember NOT BEING ABLE TO WAIT for her to come. This time, physically, yes, I'm ready to not be pregnant anymore, but I'm not totally dying for her to come mentally and emotionally. I think it's because I'm nervous. I'm mostly nervous to have two babies. Well A is totally not a baby anymore, but it feels like she's still our baby. I remember feeling like I was barely surviving when she was a newborn, and some days I feel like I can barely handle her now, so I'm definitely a little anxious about having a newborn and a 2-yr old! Of course I'm super excited to meet her, so I'm impatient for that, but somewhat knowing what I'm in for is keeping me patient. =) Oh and speaking of a 2-yr-old, yes we have a 2-yr-old! Mine and A's birthday's were last week. For mine C scheduled a massage for me! It was great! Then while I was  gone getting my massage he made me homemade frosted brownies and wrapped a couple presents for me. It was super sweet and perfect. For A's b-day, her big present was a rocking horse because she has been obsessed with these little horses my parents gave to her during the summer. So she loved that- well she loved it the first couple days, and then it kind of wore off haha. She got some other small things and cupcakes (which were homemade strawberry cupcakes, but they weren't strawberry-y enough so they were kind of just blah..but the frosting was delicious!). Anyway it was fun celebrating two days in a row!

Last in an A update.. She is such a big girl now, obviously because she's a 2-yr-old! She is getting a lot better at playing by herself and using her imagination. She says everything now and says lots of phrases. She is better at playing with other little toddlers and has her best friend from church still. She loves playing outside, going for walks, playing with her doggies and horseys, wearing hats, and playing in the dirt and water and mud. She loves cereal every morning, pasta, cheese, grapes, raisins, nutrigrain bars, and of course treats.. Everyone always asks if she knows that her sister is in my belly.... She will say hi to my belly, but I honestly don't think she fully gets it. I think she will be a little confused when we show her her sister rather than pointing to my belly and saying her sister is in there. I've been getting out the baby stuff, and she lovves playing with it and trying to put the bibs and socks and shoes on her baby dolls. It's cute, but kind of annoying because I'm trying to get it organized while she takes it all! She went through a horrible phase of not wanting to go to bed for about a week right when we got home. I mean she would throw the biggest fits we've ever seen from her- throwing herself around, screaming at the top of her lungs. She was hoarse for a few days because of the screaming... But she went back to being great at going to bed (most nights... some nights she still resists). She sometimes throws fits now, but for the most part she is really good and really sweet. She gives hugs and kisses and is very attached to mom and dad. She won't let us leave her in nursery! And she is pretty weary of strangers, especially men. She gives everyone new the stink-eye. She's a good girl, though. Hopefully she doesn't get thrown off when we bring baby home!
Well I think that's about it for now for updates, now picture time!

 the leaning chocolate cake I made C for fathers day.. it was still delicious



 family hike

 date to a Bee's baseball game

 it was hot out, but she insisted she wear this




 a guilty look haha


  uncle C giving a ride to A and C's now-wife's nephew

 happy 4th!




 she lovvves her rain jacket and playing in the rain



 perfect way to watch a movie



 at the demo derby at the fair.. she surprisingly loved it

 the legendary stink-eye

 in Mt we found this on my grandma's wall- A has more resemblance with me than we thought!


 the horseys she's obsessed with and her bike helmet 



 at the reception- these two loved each other!


 getting dinner on our roadtrip home; there were trains going by right outside, and she loved them



 loving on her toys when we got back home!


 she loved her toys so much when we got home that she's become a hoarder... there are certain toys she has to take everywhere, including on walks in the stroller

 she's also been loving more on her babies, and it's adorable

 hoarding

 hoarding again in a corner and playing with mom's socks


 cheeser


 27

 31

 33

37

Saturday, June 27, 2015

overdue update

Once again, much updating is necessary. It's been a little over 2 months since the last post, and much has happened! First and most importantly, the pregnancy is going great, and we found out that we are having another girl! We are so so excited! We are getting more and more excited as the summer flies by and we get closer to her time to come. The second big news is we are living in Utah for the summer. C is doing a human resources internship at a lodge in Park City, and we are living in his parents' vacation home in Midway 30 minutes from his work. It's an hour from their house in Centerville. So we still have our apt in Illinois with all of our stuff there that we will return to for the fall semester. We have been here almost 2 months already. It is going so quickly in part because it seems like there are events every weekend. Since we've been here C's brother's wife had their baby, his other brother got engaged, and his youngest brother left on his mission! So we have been back and forth to C's parents' house many many times. Luckily A has adjusted well to going and sleeping here, there, and everywhere. C's family comes up to Midway a lot on the weekends, too. A loves having lots of people to shower her with attention. She loves her "Mama and Papa" and her uncles and aunts (well aunt, soon to be aunts). So it's been fun to be here, nice to be here during so many fun family events. For the past 8 months before we came, we were always missing out on all the family fun! It's been awesome to be here for the birth of our new nephew. He is precious, obviously, as all newborns are. It's so fun to hold and cuddle him and compare how tiny he is to A, who is a crazy giant next to him. It's gotten C and me ready and excited for our little one to come in only 3 months! The other big event we were able to be a part of was C's youngest brother J leaving on his mission. We were able to be there for his going through the temple and his farewell, which was really nice.

When we aren't at C's parents' house and when they aren't here, it's just A and me in a big gorgeous house! Our days consist of usually a walk or bike ride in the morning when it's not too hot yet. Then we hang out at the house, play, read books, play outside, and eat lunch before nap time. Then nap time is usually around 1-2:30. During her nap I work out if I didn't get it in while she was awake. Then I shower and get ready. I usually have just a few minutes left to myself before she wakes up! In the afternoon sometimes we go to the pool. We might play outside as long as it's in the shade.... It's been pretty hot, in the 90's for the past week or two. We are so excited when daddy gets home at 5! When he gets home sometimes we do something fun with him like go to the pool or go for a walk or little hike. Some days C takes the the mo-ped to work through the back mountain pass, so we get the car to go shopping or something. So yea, it's a gorgeous place to live for free for the summer! It's pretty leisurely during our days.

In other news, the pregnancy is going great. I am now 27 weeks, just into the 3rd trimester. I am feeling well. I'm starting to get somewhat uncomfortable, with sleeping being the worst part. I can't sleep on my stomach anymore, so it's really hard to get comfortable, and then when I finally do, I wake up every time I have to roll over! But it's ok. Also I've been having some heartburn. Other than that though, I've been feeling pretty good. I've been a lot more active this pregnancy than I was with A's, which I think has helped me feel well and not gain tooo much weight. I still have gained a bunch, which isn't helped by all the yummy treats for special events lately and free babysitting for date night treats. =) But anyway, I try to work out 5x a week. My workouts consist of: Walking while pushing A in the stroller up basically the mountain.. It's about a 16-18 min steep uphill and then about the same time to come down. It's a pretty killer workout for a preggo woman! In fact, I did it a couple days ago, and I think I overdid it or was dehydrated because afterwards I was nauseous and crampy all day and part of the next day. But I've been taking it easy, and I feel better now. We also do bike rides, which are especially good for when my hip hurts. We have a bike with a seat for A on the back, and she loves it. That's also a good workout with some hills thrown in there. I've also been doing some prenatal pilates, which I really like; and on days when I really don't feel like working out, I do some prenatal yoga, which feels great and is relaxing. I've really felt good being active this pregnancy. Hopefully I'll be able to feel the benefits for labor and recovery. I found a good Dr. here in Utah who is really nice. I've had two appointments, and both have been pretty not-eventful and have gone well. Baby girl's heartbeat sounds good, my blood pressure is good, and all is well! I go again in 3 weeks, and I have to do my glucose test and drink the gross sugary drink. Last pregnancy my count was like one point over what it was supposed to be for the test, so I had to do the 3 hour glucose test where you have to drink an even worse sugary drink and not eat anything for 3 hours, getting your blood tested every hour. It ended up fine, but I remember going to work right after and feeling like I was going to pass out! Sooo I'm really hoping I don't have to do it this time, but I'm scared I'll have to.... So we shall see!

Now for an A update! She has so much personality- it seems like more and more every day. She is saying so many words and lots of phrases now. She can basically say anything you tell her to say. She loves her Mama and Papa and uncles and aunts here, and she loves skyping with her Mama, Papa, and aunt and uncle in PA. She asks for all of them when they aren't around. She loves playing outside, playing in the pool, going for walks and bike rides, and reading books. Her favorite show right now is probably Curious George. Some of her favorite foods are: cereal, raisins (rainins), strawberries, pizza, cheese sticks, pasta, recently watermelon, and of course any kind of treat! The first thing she wants to do in the morning is eat cereal. She is a pro at slurping her milk now. =) Some words and phrases she says often now include: I get it (when she is getting something), side (for outside), bike, helmet, I toot, where Mama?, where Papa?, where neigh-neighs?, book?, I mott (I smart, while pointing to her head), I wuh you (I love you), and basically every other word! She is bursting with personality; she really knows what she wants, and she lets you know! She is getting so sweet though too.. she will give hugs and pats and kisses. Plus she now says I love you, which is my favorite! She is sleeping well most of the time, with the occasional naptime fit or nighttime wake-up. She has really done so well adjusting to all the moving around and sleeping in different houses all the time. Of course she needs her binkie, piggy, and "banket" for nigh-nights. I'm not sure when we'll take away binkie for bedtime. It's so nice that it helps her go to sleep... She is so precious and is adored by so many. It's incredible to see her grow and develop literally every day. It's humbling to know we as parents are such a big part of that amazing process. We love her so much and are so excited to see her be a big sister to her baby sister! She knows to point to my tummy when asked where her sister or the baby is. I don't think she has any idea what that means, but who knows, I think she knows more than we give her credit for. ;)

I think that's about it for the updates as for now. I'll try to be better at updating more often so we have these memories down the road! But here are tons of pictures to keep the memories even better than words. =)


 On a drive home from Pa to Il we stopped and visited our friends in Kirtland for a couple days. It was lots of fun!



a favorite activity- a bucket of water

 I was in the other room for a couple minutes, and came back to find her asleep like this! 

 sorry but I'm not sorry mom. left her on the patio for 10 seconds to get her play clothes.....











 A's ultrasound is on the bottom, and new baby girl on top <3

 We let her go crazy, and then this was the gender reveal via skype to our families.

 working on my hair-doing skills
 kickin' it while on a walk



 crazy girl



 we all love the pool at the house here



 She was not happy.... in her defense she wasn't feeling well this day and didn't want to let me go. She threw up later that day. And this was a trip I took by myself up to Mt to see my bro J before he left on his mission! 

 Luckily her best friend came to visit us while they were in UT!



 just growin a bebe!


  now at our summer home in UT, but still a favorite activity

 a daily occurrence 

 and once again...


 nephew time


 had a wonderful Father's Day which was also C's bro's farewell

 Father's Day <3

  Father's Day <3

  Father's Day <3

 when her bff came to visit

 20 wks

 24 wks

 25 wks

26 wks